Dating Your Spouse

A few things have kind of struck me lately.  I’ve been feeling a little out of sorts, and I have been thinking about why that is.  I’ve been working on letting go of my computer addiction, and find that I have some space to fill.  I want to fill that space with meaningful things.  One of the ideas I found in a search for hobby ideas was that I just had to DO SOMETHING.  It might not seem all that great at first, but I would be better off if I just moved forward and DID it.  It was something I needed to hear.

“What does that have to do with dating your spouse?” you might ask.  Well, let me tell you.  Andrew and I date.  Lately, they have consisted of going to the thrift store, and maybe getting a bite to eat, or some dessert.  We enjoy this, but it is getting old.  We don’t need any more clothes, or shoes, or other accessories.  I also have not been feeling like our relationship is all that great.  We don’t communicate or connect like we first did, almost 16 years ago.  In my mind, I think a lot of the blame has to go to my overworked (work addicted) husband.  I kind of feel annoyed that I keep having to put forth all the effort to keep our relationship alive.  I want my husband to “sweep me off my feet” again.  That all might be true, or it might also be quite one sided.  If I give up, I have no one to blame but myself.

Cue pinterest.  I stumbled upon a pin about dating your spouse, with lots of great ideas, and links to websites full of date night ideas.  It gave me the push I needed to just DO SOMETHING.  I now have enough date ideas to pick and choose from for years worth of dates.  Some of the ideas, I am kind of not sure about, but all they will take is a little effort, and I am sure they will be fun.  I wanted to share some of my favorite places I found ideas for.

The first thing I did was print off a list of 30 questions that we can ask each other:Hopes and Dreams

We often just do not have things to talk about that keep us from getting upset at each other (sad but true!), so a few prearranged questions or conversation starters may just do the trick.

Next was a website full of Stay At Home Date Ideas.  I printed these off, cut them out, and put them in a little glass jar with a lid.  I plan on making a simple label for it, and we can have a stay at home date once a month or so, where we put the kids to bed, and we just spend time together at home.

After thinking about how fun it would be to stay home sometimes, I realized that we don’t get to the temple enough, so I think we can make one date night a month be a trip to the temple.

148 Romantic Date Night Ideas for Married Couples

This is the page that I pinned that got me started with all of this.  From here I found another website that had a list of 77 things to do on a date.  I printed that off, and now we have no excuse to not be able to find something fun to do together.

Last, but not least, I figured I would start of with a bang and plan something fun for our date night tonight.  The Dating Divas made that so easy!  I printed off an invitation and task cards.  Tonight we head off to a simple dinner, and a book store.  We are doing The Bookstore Date.  Wish us luck!

Do you date your spouse?  What do you do to keep your relationship alive and well?  I will make sure I report back and let you know how our new and improved date nights are going.

UPDATE:  after a little bit of a late start, we headed out to Barnes and Nobel, and had a great time together!  We talked about all the new dating things we are going to do, and really feel quite excited by all the fun we are going to have!  If you live close by, and want to double date sometime, let me know.  There are some really fun adventures that I would love to try out, and you need a group.

Leave a Reply

